The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The town meeting is a peculiarity of Amherst that many residents are proud of. Among the only towns of its size in the state that does not have a council-manager or mayor-council form of government, Amherst instead operates by the quintessential New England form of government: a town meeting. Common sentiment is that town meetings are more representative than mayor-council forms of government, because instead of nine or ten representatives for a town of 37,819 people, Amherst has 240. But just how representative is this form of government?

AMHERST, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Amherst Department of Political Science has announced a new program to encourage and help prepare new generations of women for roles in public leadership.

The World Economic Forum’s (WEF) Global Agenda Council (GAC) on the Future of Government, in cooperation and with the support of the Government of the United Arab Emirates, launched today a guide to help governments use technology to build better trust and deliver more efficient public services.

Jane Fountain, Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, has been appointed to a three-year term as a member of the Experts Advisory Committee of the E-Government Research Center of the Eastern Regional Organization for Public Administration (EROPA). Professor Fountain is the only non-Chinese member of the approximately ten-member Experts Advisory Committee. 

Professor Charli Carpenter of the Political Science department recently presented original research on the public perception of autonomous weapons at the United Nations Conventional Weapons Conference in Geneva earlier this month. The CWC was convened to discuss the development and deployment of these weapons--so called "killer robots"--and the ethical and pragmatic issues they raise in the international system. 

Jane Fountain, Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, was an invited participant at the thirty-fourth Aspen Italia Seminar for Leaders held in Venice, Italy from May 9 to 11.

Professor Laura Reed has been invited to attend the 2014 academic forum sponsored by the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) Organization to work with their technical experts to develop educational resources that integrate CTBT-related topics into existing policy and science-based academic curricula. 

The University of Massachusetts Amherst will honor the exemplary achievement, initiative and leadership of some of its most talented and accomplished graduating seniors during Undergraduate Commencement on Friday, May 9 at McGuirk Alumni Stadium beginning at 4:30 p.m. Ten members of the graduating class will be honored as 21st Century Leaders at Undergraduate Commencement. Two students will be recognized for their leadership and executive ability as Jack Welch Scholars.

PhD student Elva Orozco-Mendoza has received the Joyce Berkman Award for Outstanding Graduate Feminist Scholarship from the Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Program at UMass Amherst. 

Named in honor of Professor Emeritus Joyce Berkman, the prize is given annually to a graduate student who is graduating from the University of Massachusetts Amherst Certificate in Advanced Feminist Studies program. 

Bruce A. Desmarais, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Associate Director of the Institute for Social Science Research at UMass-Amherst, and John A. Hird, Professor of Political Science and Public Policy and Interim Dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, have been awarded a $527,233 grant from the National Science Foundation titled “Scientific Evidence in Regulation and Governance.” The project makes use of powerful new information and analytical tools to understand and improve how science is used across disparate federal policymaking arenas.