University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



“Being a lawyer is a tool,” says Anthony Barsamian ’86 (legal studies), managing partner of Hutchings, Barsamian, Mandelcorn & Zeytoonian, LLP in Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts. “It needs to be applied to something relevant. Using that tool to advocate for others—both individuals and the community—is what brought me to where I am today.”

Raymond S. Bradley, director of the Center for Climate Change, is among four researchers affiliated with the campus who contributed to reports issued by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in recent years. The reports earned the panel the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, shared with Al Gore, a leading environmentalist and former U.S. vice president.

Jane Fountain, professor of Political Science and Public Policy and director of the National Center for Digital Government, spoke at the 4th Ministerial e-Government Conference held Sept. 19-21 in Lisbon, Portugal.

She was invited to address the delegates on the relationship of e-government to growth and employment in the European Union as part of a live debate that included the deputy secretary-general of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and European ministers.

The Department of Political Science was awarded a Mellon Mutual Mentoring grant for 2007-08 to support its new faculty.  The grant will support Professors Ahmed, Nteta, Schwedler, and Watts by providing funding for conference travel, funding to bring outside speakers to campus, and more generally to facilitate mutual mentoring relationships among political science faculty on campus and in the Five-College area.  For more information about the Mellon Mutual Mentoring Initiative, please see

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded a group of eight researchers, led by Professor Jane Fountain (political science and public policy), a $300,000 grant to create, implement and refine a series of international ethics modules for science and engineering students through the Science, Technology, and Society Initiative.

Brenda Bushouse, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, was awarded the Ian Axford Fellowship in Public Policy to study early childhood policies in New Zealand.  She will be based in the Ministry of Education from February to August 2008 and will study the implementation of the 20-Hours Free Programme, a new subsidy program for preschool-age children.  Professor Bushouse will compare the New Zealand subsidy program with state universal pres

Srirupa Roy’s article, "A symbol of freedom – the Indian flag and the transformations of nationalism, 1906-2002," was one of two winners of this year's Article Prize awarded by the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians (part of the American Historical Association).  These awards go to an article published in the previous year "in any field of history, written by a woman." (Roy’s piece came out in the