University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Jane Fountain, Professor of Political Science and Public Policy and Director of the National Center for Digital Government, moderated a session on New Media and the Future of Government for journalists, business executives, government officials, and NGO leaders at the annual meeting of the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland on Friday.

UMass Amherst Graduate and faculty member at the University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras, Manuel Almeida, recently published Dirigentes y Dirigidos: Para Leer Los Cuadernos de la cárcel de Antonio Gramsci (Leaders and Followers: Reading the Prison Notebooks of Antonio Gramsci).

Brenda Bushouse presented “Thinking Big for Policy Change” to the Women’s Fund of Western Massachusetts Leadership Institute for Political Impact  on Saturday, September 11, 2010. Bushouse is professor of political science and public policy at UMass Amherst.

Professor Bushouse's two hour seminar gave Leadership Institute Fellows the tools to work toward economic justice, access to education, and freedom from violence in their daily activities. 

photo by Gabriel Pecot

Article by Sabine Cray

Exit polls. Ever wonder how they work? Professor Brian Schaffner (political science) is an expert on survey research, a regular contributor to, and has made it his business to lead 17 students in his class, Political Polling and Survey Research, through the process of developing, conducting and analyzing an exit poll of voters during the 2010 election.

Associate Professor of Political Science, Brian Schaffner contributes to the growing discussion over polling in the United States. Due to a steady decline in the use of traditional land line phones, pollsters no longer acquire an accurate data set representing an appropriate cross-section of the American electorate.

The intent of the Chancellor’s Citation Award is to recognize and honor benefited University staff members who have demonstrated outstanding performance in contribution their time and/or skills in helping the University achieve its goals and objectives. Ten (10) awards will be presented with the hope that all members of the University community will nominate deserving employees.