University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Danny LaChance is the recipient of the University of Minnesota Graduate School's "Best Dissertation Award" in the Humanities & Fine Arts for 2011.

Jane Fountain, Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, and Director of the National Center for Digital Government and the Science, Technology and Society Initiative, gave the keynote address at the United Nations Conference on e-Government in Asia and the Pacific held in Seoul, Republic of Korea on May 11-13, 2011.

Amel Ahmed has received a $15,000 Faculty Research Grant/Healy Endowment Grant for her research project "The Devil is in the Democratic Details: The Politics of Institutional Choice in the Egyptian Transition."

Elva Orozco-Mendoza has received a Skellig Foundation fellowship to attend the Clinton Institute at the University College Dublin. She will spend her summer at the Institute's intensive seminar program in Dublin where she will be able to conduct pre-dissertation research and share her work with scholars and graduate students from around the world.

Ray La Raja and Jesse Rhodes have received a 2011 Microsoft IMPACT Grant for Blended Learning. The $10,000 grant will allow La Raja and Rhodes to integrate new and innovative uses technology into PoliSci101, American Politics.

Peter Haas, Professor of Political Science, was an invited participant at the University of Idaho College of Law Roundtable  "Crossing Governance Gaps to Protect the Environment" from April 28-30, 2011.

Alina Belen Lindblom (Political Science '11) has been awarded a 2011-2012 Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship to the Czech Republic. Lindblom will spend the year teaching English at two schools in Trebíc.

Lindblom is an honors student who recently defended her thesis, "A Point of No Return: Labor Migration from the EU-10 to Denmark and Sweden." She is a 2011 recipient of an Alumni Association Senior Leadership Award, and from 2009-2010 she was a Gilman International Scholar studying in Seville, Spain.

LS Honors Award

The Legal Studies program is pleased to announce the 2011 recipients of the Shep Shepard Award, Samantha Schnoerr and Emiliano Salazaris, as well as the 2011 recipients of the Legal Studies Honors Award, Avery Gibson and Jennifer Jackson.

PhD student Gizem Zencirci has been awarded a prestigious and highly selective "Science of Generosity" Dissertation fellowship administered by the the University of Notre Dame for the 2011-12 academic year. The aptly named very generous fellowship award of $25,000 supports Gizem's dissertation project, "Manifestations of Generosity in Turkey: Community, Charity, and Civil Society."

Judy Holmes and Nina Siulc have been selected as 2011-2012 Davis Integrative Experience (IE) Faculty Fellows. The fellowship is part of a three-year grant from the Davis Educational Foundation to support General Education reform at the University.