The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


La Raja, Hird Receive "Student Choice Award"

Ray La Raja and John Hird are 2011 receipients of a Residential First Year Experience (RFYE) Student Choice Award. The student choice award recognizes faculty who have made a significant impact on the lives of students during their first year of college. Only first year students may nominate faculty for this important award.

La Raja is Associate Professor of Political Science. His research interests include political parties, interest groups, elections, campaign finance, political participation, American state politics, public policy and political reform.

Hird is Professor and Chair of Political Science. His research interests include policy expertise and advising, the use of information in policymaking, policy analysis, and environmental policy.

The RFYE Student Choice Award is organized by the Residential First Year Experience program in the Department of Housing and REsidence Life.


News Type: 

  • Faculty News