University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The Legal Studies program welcomed two new faculty this semester: Lauren McCarthy and Daniel LaChance. Professor LaChance and McCarthy's research represent both the growing international focus of the Legal Studies program, as well as its focus on the societal implications of law.

Stuart Shulman, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Director of the Qualitative Data Analysis Program, received an award for "Outstanding Information Technology-Related Work" at the 2011 American Political Science Association (APSA) annual conference in Seattle, WA.

Several members of the Department of Political Science presented new research at the American Political Science Association conference September 1-4, 2011 in Seattle.  Their papers are detailed below, and the complete program is avaialble at APSA's website.

Professor Bushouse was awarded The 2011 Virginia Hodgkinson Research Prize for her book Universal Preschool: Policy Change, Stability and the Pew Charitable Trusts (2009 SUNY Press).  The award from the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organization and Voluntary Action recognizes Bushouse’s contributions to both the study of philanthropy and public policy.  In her award letter, the committee of interdisciplinary nonprofit and philanthropy scholars noted, “we were impressed by your strong and well-considered discussions of the policy implications of your findings.”  There will be an Awa

Jon Western, Five College associate professor of international relations and Peter Haas, professor of political science, have received a grant from Five Colleges, Incorporated to examine issues surrounding global leadership in an increasingly complex world. 

Associate Professor and Interim Department Chair Frederic Schaffer was recently profiled by the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS). 

“I have thrived since joining the political science department in 2008,” he says. “I really value the emerging cross-field and interdisciplinary orientation of our department. It provides an uncommonly supportive and intellectually stimulating environment. The opportunities available to me here simply do not exist at most other institutions.”

Donna Dove first came to the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 1985 as the Department of Political Science undergraduate secretary. Soon after, she became the graduate program manager, working to support the Political Science masters and PhD programs and the Master of Public Administration program. This past spring, Donna received a 25 year award for her service to Political Science and the University. While several UMass employees reach this milestone each year, it is rare for a staff member to serve all 25 years in the same department.

Students, alumni and friends are invited to join the Department and the College of Social and Behavioral Science on November 5, 2011 as we honor Professor Emeritus Edwin Gere.  Prof. Gere will be presented with citations from state and federal legislators to recognize his outstanding service during the Berlin Airlift in World War II. 

The event will take place during Homecoming Weekend, November 5, in the Massachusetts Room in the Mullins Center on campus. Please check the events calendar for specific details.

Ashley Messenger ’91 has a passion for the First Amendment. As a student, Messenger studied the constitution and engaged in general discussions about American politics, but not until she began working as a lawyer did she realize how “fun” the First Amendment can be.

Sean Quinn '12 has been selected as a 2011 recipient of a Arthur R. Lambert Scholarship. Quinn, who is spending the summer interning in the office of Therese Murray, President of the MA Senate, competed against 500 legislative interns for this prestigious award.

The $1,000 scholarship and award is given annually each summer to recognize students with strong working knowledge of state government and who have high moral values.