University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The Senior Celebration on May 3, 2017 was a great success!

Political Science held it’s annual scholarship lunch on May 4, 2017 in the UMass Campus Center’s Amherst Room.

On May 3, 2017, Legal Studies faculty and students gathered at the UMass University Club to honor this year’s Legal Studies scholarship winners.

Paul Musgrave, political science, writes a column in The Washington Post where he says President Donald J. Trump should close his Twitter account because he is using it to bypass the press and is making policy without consulting with the government establishment that is trained to make careful and considered policy decisions.

And now we have Parxit. On Thursday, President Trump announced that the United States will withdraw from the 2015 Paris agreement on climate change. What does this mean, and what are the effects?

Political science professor Paul Musgrave comments on President Trump’s decision to withdraw from the Paris Climate Agreement. “We’re talking about undoing something that was the project, the signal accomplishment of a whole group of countries — on more or less on a whim,” Musgrave says. Vox

The column cites a recent study co-authored by Jesse Rhodes and Brian Schaffner, political science, found that black voter turnout dropped during last November’s presidential election and the sharpest drops, on average, were in states that determined the outcome of the election, including Michigan, Wisconsin and Pennsylvania.

Basileus Zeno, a doctoral student in political science, comments in a story about local efforts to help immigrants who find it difficult to adjust to life in the U.S. Zeno is from Syria and says he has experienced may stereotypes since beginning his studies here. The conference on ways to help immigrants was held at Smith College on May 17.

Paul Musgrave, political science, says in the event that President Donald J. Trump is impeached, it’s not likely he will go quietly. “If Donald Trump were impeached or removed, the next day he’d still have his Twitter account. He’d still have a good chunk of the American electorate – let’s say 20, 25 percent of the people who’d approve of what he’d done,” Musgrave says.

A story on the 2016 presidential election notes that an analysis of voting trends by Professors Brian Schaffner and Jesse Rhodes, along with two colleagues, finds that turnout of African-American voters declined dramatically while white turnout increased noticeably. Latino and Asian-American turnout went up even more than white turnout, they say, and in key swing states like Michigan, Wisconsin and Pennsylvania, the shifts were especially strong.